Department of Mathematics

In the year 1965, the college introduced Department of Mathematics with different combinations at UG level keeping in view the need for strengthening its Physical Sciences Wing and growing competition in the IT and Science fields. Since then, the department of Mathematics has been providing excellent learning platform for the science students to shine forth. There have been renowned teachers adorning the department extending their incredible expertise in the field. Dr. L. Nagarajan, Reader of the Department has been the In-charge of the Department for more than two years and has also been the recipient of prestigious AP State Best Teacher Award-2006, and a well sought after Resource Person, before retiring from service in June, 2010. Eminent teachers like Sri. K. Rama Mohan, presently one of the NAAC Peer Team Members and Mr. Baig, Visiting Professor at one of the Schools of Mathematics in USA, made a remarkable and tremendous contribution in bringing up the Department of Mathematics. Of latest, some of the present faculty members are the products of this department.

With the passage of time, a Post Graduate Course in Mathematics was introduced on Semester Model, in the year 2003-04. Till today, admission into PG as well as UG courses is in great demand.